Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

Mathematics and Statistics Colloquium

Spring 2012

Information for other semesters is also available.

Thu, Feb 2
3:30 p.m.
NH 276
(tentative)
Michael Bolt and Thomas Scofield
Calvin College
Organizational Meeting

Abstract last modified 2 years, 10 months ago

Thu, Feb 9
3:30 p.m.
NH 276
(tentative)
Andy Raich
University of Arkansas
Conditional and uniform convergence

Abstract last modified 2 years, 9 months ago

Thu, Feb 16
3:30 p.m.
NH 276
Movie

The Great Pi/e Debate

Abstract last modified 2 years, 8 months ago

Thu, Feb 23
3:30 p.m.
NH 276
(tentative)
Tim Sipka
Alma College
Alfred Kempe’s “Proof” of the Four Color Theorem

Abstract last modified 2 years, 9 months ago

Thu, Mar 1
3:30 p.m.
NH 276
Chris Moseley
Calvin College
The Shortest Path

Abstract last modified 2 years, 8 months ago

Thu, Mar 8
3:30 p.m.
NH 276
Jon Hodge
Grand Valley State University
The Separability Problem in Referendum Elections: Some Recent Developments

Abstract last modified 2 years, 8 months ago

Thu, Mar 15
3:30 p.m.
NH 276
Thomas Fiore
Univ. of Michigan - Dearborn
Morphisms in a Musical Analysis of Schoenberg, String Quartet No. 1, Opus 7

Abstract last modified 2 years, 8 months ago

Thu, Mar 29
3:30 p.m.
NH 276
Katherine Strong
Calvin College
Quaternions as Rotation Operators

Abstract last modified 2 years, 7 months ago

Thu, Apr 5
3:30 p.m.
NH 276
(tentative)
Ping Zhang
Western Michigan University
The Early Years of What Became Graph Theory

Abstract last modified 2 years, 7 months ago

Thu, Apr 12
3:30 p.m.
NH 078
Matt Heun, Tyler Helmus and Caleb Reese
Calvin College
Development of a Super-fast Numerical Equation Solver

Abstract last modified 2 years, 6 months ago

Thu, Apr 19
3:30 p.m.
NH 276
(tentative)
Jim Turner
Calvin College
TBA

Abstract last modified 2 years, 9 months ago

Thu, Apr 26
3:30 p.m.
NH 276
(tentative)
Dawn Archey
University of Detroit Mercy
The $25,000,000,000 Eigenvector

Abstract last modified 2 years, 6 months ago

Thu, May 3
3:30 p.m.
NH 276

Calvin College
Pizza and Awards

Abstract last modified 1 year, 11 months ago

secondary content goes here.
side content goes here.